At the Door

At the Door

Pain came to make a visit
   and would not go away.
Unwelcome and unexpected,
   it tried to extend its stay.
When they asked me to assess it
   on a chart with unsmiley faces…a choice
      between minor headache and giving birth…
         I said it was root canal.
So I swallowed pills and gave up chocolate,
   and generally felt no better,
      until I made its life so unpleasant
         that finally it went away.
Yet when I’m alone or it’s late at night
   and the house is very quiet
      I try very hard not to listen
         for its knock upon the door.

4 thoughts on “At the Door

Let's talk...

