water descants

09-Path-to-the-Path-1024x436 Lynda Lowe

lovers are vessels
drifting buoyant
on the brink of drown
quenched in kissing rains…
with laughter brimming
on waves of cresting….
rhythm rocking in currents of
giving and sustaining…
and floating in each other

*        *        *        *        *        *        *

and……
Whitman is a fish
swimming life and
breathing words
through sharp red
transcendental gills
cruising…immersed
flowing in and of his
intercourse with universe

*        *        *        *        *        *        *

and…
music is liquid sound
immersing us
in moody waves
as voices sing to us
like mermaids from a shore

Bonnie Marshall

Art by Lynda Lowe

10 thoughts on “water descants

  1. i would humbly submit that those first nine lines are more than strong and lovely enough to stand on their own. I don’t want to leave them for something else … also, they (those first, nine lines) break, in my reading of them, into 3-line stanzas; “the brink of drown” is superb.

    1. I agree with you, Ward, and I sincerely appreciate and respect your take on it. Some day in the near future I shall break them out to stand alone with a new name, yet now they are on exhibit with the four elements descants series I’m writing. On succeeding days will come fire, air and earth, each with three descant sections. Hopefully each element also will have breakouts that appeal to some more than others. Reminds me of how I listen to Mahler’s Fifth Symphony which I fast forward to the exquisite beauty of the Adagietto movement, leaving the rest behind for, perhaps another day…or not. Again, I’m so glad you felt comfortable enough to be this perceptive. My devoted thanks. Bonnie

    1. Gosh, Jana, I appreciate your welcome comment. You know with each poem I’m saying, “Look what I wrote for you, reader, and I hope you’ll like it.” Especially in these descant element poems I’m having fun doing that. Earth, wind and fire will follow.Hugs.

Let's talk...

