tickets to ride

ferris wheel

so… I paid the gypsy to tell me
everything I need to know
is outside her tent

about sweetness…
of cherry syrup
hot drizzle spun
wisped to paper cones
to melt brittle on my tongue

about games…
of chance I cannot win
with ping-pong balls
to save goldfish
in clear glass bowls
from happenstance

about seduction…
of grab joint orgies
that satisfy my appetite
with a mouth appeal
like guilty kisses

about delight…
of spinning on a Ferris wheel
elation high and letdown low…
and knowing that the tickets
I purchased at the start
will all too soon be paid
to the ticket man

Bonnie Marshall

Something I learned…
grab joint is carnival slang for fast food shack

Photo Credit: tarrby

14 thoughts on “tickets to ride

  1. enjoy very much the cross-rhythms buried in this one … like the sounds of an arcade buried in the background; the first stanza a real knockout.

  2. Phew! I’m glad you explained about the grab joint! You bring alive the sense-rich experience of the carnival. I loved the stanza about the sweets.

  3. I am glad you explained about the grab joints. My mind went straight to less salubrious places! I like the way you’ve structured this and especially the lines about sweetness. You’ve brought alive the sense-rich experience of a carnival.

Let's talk...

