Two Angels Walk Into a Bar

two-angels-walk-into-a-bar-james-meredith.jpg

two angels walk into a bar…
no joke
black dresses…high heels
the whole shebang
their tinsel wings
brush drinkers
in that venerable room
of cluttered walls…
noise smother jazz…
boozy sight lines

they…pace entrance to exit
flash silver duplicates
on mirrors…empty glasses
trail raucous laughter
behind them in the night…
leave remembrance
of a startlement
and rare presence
in that place

Bonnie Marshall
Photography Credit to James Meredith
2013, Belfast, Ireland

18 thoughts on “Two Angels Walk Into a Bar

  1. This is absolutely, beautiful and fantastic! It took my breath away, and grabbed my attention, right away.You are such a wonderful writer, and I’m so glad to be able to read your work. Thank you so much, for sharing this, my friend!

  2. Love the way this moment in time is captured. Reminds me of an awesome photo op I missed once at the Vatican…a nun walking with a teenager wearing short skirt, fishnet stockings and stilettos. The story still haunts me.

  3. have to admit that i’d probably rather spend eternity with these angels in black dresses and high heels, listening to jazz with them and talking over a glass of wine, than i would hanging around the ones in white playing harps. of course, i’m assuming i would have a choice, which is doubtful.

    1. Smiles…this is the one I’ve written from the beginning with a picture/photo, except one for a painting by Breughel with children chaotic with games in a town square. The photographer is exceptional, gave me permission…made my work easy. It’s one of my favorites, and I’m glad you like it, Michael. Love writing about happiness!

    1. Now, this one I wrote when I found James Meredith’s evocative photograph. He is also a fine Belfast poet and fiction writer. Before I posted it, I received his permission, and he liked the poem. Win. Win. Smiles …

Let's talk...

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.